Best Dressed | June 14th – 20th, 2015

Here are my favorite looks from the week of June 14th. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comment section below this post. Enjoy!

JUNE 14

– Bella Thorne in Mugler –

Bella Thorne in Mugler. 2015. Web. 20 June 2015. https://uk.lifestyle.yahoo.com/photos/best-dressed-celebrities-this-week-12-18-june-slideshow/bella-thorne-photo-1434716315691.html.

I am all about graphic elements in fashion (shapes, lines, etc). If this dress didn’t have an array of grommets on it, it would not be interesting, but it does therefore it attracts my eyes. Also, smart decision not to heavily accessorize. Jewelry would only compete with the grommets and be over-the-top.

– Kate Middleton in ME+EM –

Kate Middleton in ME+EM. 2015. Web. 16 June 2015. http://www.cosmopolitan.com/style-beauty/fashion/g4032/pretty-princess/?slide=1.

The Duchess of Cambridge just had a baby and looks fantastic. If her secret is this cute, casual, nautical-themed outfit, sign me up!

– Rachel Riley –

Rachel Riley. 2015. Web. 20 June 2015. http://celebmafia.com/rachel-riley-manchester-united-legends-charity-match-at-old-trafford-june-2015-342850/.

This dress has me on the fence. On one hand, the dress pattern looks too much like a serape, but on the other hand the flattering brown wedge loafers and black, textured cardigan tone it down just enough. I love that Rachel’s hair is pulled back but not so styled that it looks too good for a football match. I don’t know! I am not in love with the dress, but the outfit as a whole is appealing to me. I’m going with my gut and keeping it in!

JUNE 15

– Busy Philipps –

Busy Philipps. 2015. Web. 19 June 2015. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-3126388/Busy-Philipps-remains-cool-fashion-stakes-retro-palm-tree-print-dress-despite-New-York-heat-appearing-Live-Kelly-Michael.html.

This outfit is effortlessly pulling double-duty: It is comfortable and fashionably adorable. A palm leaf-patterned, sleeveless shirt dress, floral slip-ons, gold earrings, an arctic blue pendant, and a braided updo. There is not one detail that I don’t love. Is anyone else getting a Banana Republic vibe from the dress?? I bring that up because I don’t know the designer, and I’m trying to be Nancy Drew and figure it out.

– Cara Delevingne in Dolce and Gabbana –

Cara Delevingne in Dolce and Gabbana. 2015. Web. 21 June 2015. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-3125139/Cara-Delevingne-dons-ladylike-floral-dress-step-Spain.html.

I am in love with this pattern! The various shades of red and green give the roses so much depth. The minimal styling and bold red lip are on point. I also like the black, strappy heels; they pair well with this particular dress.

– Kiernan Shipka in Valentino –

Kiernan Shipka in Valentino. 2015. Web. 20 June 2015. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-3125973/Mad-Men-s-Kiernan-Shipka-star-LA-Film-Festival-screening-movie-Fan-Girl-leaves-Sally-Draper-past.html.

Pattern-mixing done right is beautiful to look at. The three patterns on this dress are all within an earthy color palette, but they are different enough that the dress has depth. Petal pink lipstick was a good choice to brighten up Kiernan’s face.

– Suki Waterhouse in Burberry –

Suki Waterhouse in Burberry. 2015. Web. 16 June 2015. http://celebmafia.com/suki-waterhouse-burberry-mens-fashion-show-in-london-june-2015-340803/.

The intricate design and array of earthy colors are balanced by the simple hairstyle, stud earrings, gold watch, faded mustard yellow clutch, and t-strap heels. The bright sun is reflecting off of the material inside the grommets and making the skirt stand out even more.

JUNE 16

– Arielle Kebbel –

Arielle Kebbel. 2015. Web. 19 June 2015. http://celebrityhive.com/arielle-kebbel-at-the-women-in-film-2015-crystal-lucy-awards-june-16/ariellekebbel-02/.

This look is simple but well put together. It is nice enough for a public event without being too over-the-top or, I am assuming, uncomfortable. I spoke about this last week; I normally hate when necklaces overlap an outfit, but I am once again breaking my own rule and giving a pass to Arielle’s medallion which fits perfectly into the negative space of the pattern. Also, I really want those shoes! My one complaint is the makeup. The dress is white and black therefore Arielle’s face really needs some color, but the colors that were used are not working. Her skin appears to be orange, and the lip color is too similar to that. It falls flat unfortunately, but I like the outfit.

– Ashley Tisdale –

Ashley Tisdale. 2015. Web. 19 June 2015. http://celebmafia.com/ashley-tisdale-style-arrives-at-the-chew-in-new-york-city-june-2015-342180/.

I love lace so this look had a 99.9% chance of catching my attention. I have made my stance on modesty clear in the past so I will not go into detail, but I would prefer that this look was somehow not completely see-through. That being said, I love the idea of lace separates.

– Cara Delevingne in Mary Katrantzou –

Cara Delevingne in Mary Katrantzou. 2015. Web. 19 June 2015. http://celebmafia.com/cara-delevingne-paper-towns-press-tour-in-berlin-june-2015-342164/.

Sheer, black sleeves. Maroon, intersecting lines on a sheer, black bodice. A faded lime green, houndstooth skirt with splashes of maroon on the bottom half. When described, this dress sounds insane, but it all works visually. This dress is definitely in the running for my best dressed of the week, but you will have to stay tuned until the end to find out if I pick it. 😉

– Kristen Stewart in Proenza Schouler –

Kristen Stewart in Proenza Schouler. 2015. Web. 19 June 2015. http://www.instyle.com/look-of-the-day/2015-06-17#932346.

Is there a grommet trend I didn’t know about?? I’m not complaining, just curious. The sheer bottom and grommet design lighten up an otherwise heavy, black sweater dress. On the same note, Kristen’s light pink lip color lightens up her face.

– Sandra Bullock in Monique Lhuillier –

Sandra Bullock in Monique Lhuillier. 2015. Web. 19 June 2015. http://celebmafia.com/sandra-bullock-women-in-film-2015-crystal-lucy-awards-in-century-city-341758/.

I am not a fan of the sparkly, navy blue top, but I love the skirt. The shades of blue, purple, and pink simultaneously stand out and blend together. I usually don’t like a long skirt length, but this outfit works. I like how the skirt hits right where the lace-up heels start.

– Victoria Justice in Donna Karan –

Victoria Justice in Donna Karan. 2015. Web. 19 June 2015. http://celebmafia.com/victoria-justice-2015-amfar-inspiration-gala-341657/.

A simple black gown with a train and a pop of color in the coral red lipstick. This is a beautiful red carpet moment, very Audrey Hepburn.

JUNE 17

– Kendall Jenner in Halston Heritage –

Kendall Jenner in Halston Heritage. 2015. Web. 20 June 2015. http://www.instyle.com/look-of-the-day/2015-06-18.

The bright tangerine color is gorgeous!! The makeup and accessories were appropriately kept in neutral color territory.

– Kiernan Shipka in Prabal Gurung –

Kiernan Shipka in Prabal Gurung. 2015. Web. 20 June 2015. http://www.instyle.com/look-of-the-day/2015-06-18#934086.

The two elements in this look, the dress and the shoes, do their part to make an impression. The stiff shape of the dress was well-made; it sits well and does not look ill-fitting. The chunky, black ankle straps on the heels correspond to the parallel, wavy “sleeves” on the dress; they intersect without actually crossing, an interesting touch. The mauve color looks beautiful against Kiernan’s skin. Her updo and light makeup let the patten stand alone and make a statement. I am getting a serious Jane Austen vibe from the pattern. Is that weird??

JUNE 18

– Cara Delevingne in a Saint Laurent Blazer –

Cara Delevingne in a Saint Laurent Blazer. 2015. Web. 20 June 2015. http://www.instyle.com/look-of-the-day/2015-06-19#935326.

This is a casual outfit that I could and would wear, which is why I love it so much. One of the best parts is the gold buttons making the stars brighter. The blouse and blazer are interesting on their own, allowing the bottom half and accessories to be kept extremely simple.

There were so many great looks this week. However, I can’t get one particular dress out of my head. My “Best Dressed” pick for the week of June 14th is Cara Delevingne in Mary Katrantzou. This outfit surprised me in a positive way. A+++++ 🙂

Stay tuned for my next “Best Dressed” post coming soon…

– Lauren Michele ❤

My Links:

Previous Post: Welcome to the Bates Motel

Previous Video: Summer Essentials 2015

Instagram

Personal Blog

Pinterest

Tumblr

Twitter

Youtube

One thought on “Best Dressed | June 14th – 20th, 2015

Your comments and feedback are very important to me. :)

